PDA

View Full Version : Treebeard vs. the Elves-who is older?

Iaragarwen
03-26-2002, 09:45 PM
Okay, I'm half way through reading the LOTR trilogy, (I'm new to Tolkien but I LOVE the LOTR books and movies!) and I read the part about Treebeard and the Ents. I'm confused. It says that Treebeard is the oldest of all living things, and yet the Elves woke the trees up and taught them to talk. Also, Tom Bombadill is said to be "the Eldest." Are you confused yet? smilies/smile.gif

Airedae
03-26-2002, 09:54 PM
I might be wrong about this, if i am im sure someone will correct me but.....I think Treebeard is the oldest ENT...not the eldest in Middle Earth...i could be wrong but im sure someone knows the right answer.. smilies/smile.gif

Sharkū
03-26-2002, 10:17 PM
Most there is to say about the matter has been already said here (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=1&t=000597).

[ July 08, 2002: Message edited by: Sharku ]

Kidd2323
03-26-2002, 10:56 PM
I think it's possible that Treebeard could have been the very first Ent, which wouold make him the "oldest" of his kind, but when even the elves--notably Galadriel--call him eldest you know he must be older than most of the elves still in ME. I believe it's possible that Treebeard could be the oldest living thing on ME at the end of the LOTR. Many elves have escaped to the havens by this time, and many more are on their way. Treebeard, being the first Ent was probably around before most of the elves currently inhabiting ME at this time. But the elves did awake the Ents, so the Elves came first.

VanimaEdhel
03-29-2002, 02:20 PM
Sharku: thank you for the links to already discussed topics. I like reading the old conversations and seeing what others had to say (especially if the topic has repeatedly been brought up).

Iaragarwen
03-29-2002, 02:50 PM