PDA

View Full Version : Elven children

twinkle
02-24-2002, 10:04 PM
hi all....
since i am also a newbie to this site i'm not particularly sure wether this subject goes here or is even a subject per se....
this just interests me and i was wondering if some of you could fill me in.....
i only read the hobbit and lotr and just listening to deeper discussions(when they occur)in chat, more and more questions pop into my head......one of them is this:
elven children....seeing as though elves are immortal, how is the timeline for their physical maturity......are elven "toddlers" ever mentioned in any of tolkiens books?
would really like to know how they run through the stages from infancy to adulthood.....
who rears the children? would their childhoods and their care have been similar to our middle ages? male children fostered and such?
maybe not a "deep" discussion, but i hope a worthwhile one?

Raefindel
02-24-2002, 10:29 PM
I have not read the Silmarilian either so maybe I'm not all that qualified to answer your question, but hey, I got here first! Ha ha ha. The Elves,with few exceptions, by the time of Lotr books, don't have children because they are the elder race and leaving Middle Earth. In the earlier ages, they did have children and rear them much as we do.

Raefindel
02-24-2002, 10:32 PM
Oh, and Welcome to the Barrow-Downs, Twinkle. Named after your favorite star? Enjoy your time here. Everyone is very friendly.

Orald
02-25-2002, 02:06 PM
IIRC Elves mature around the age of 50, and do not age much after that. Although some, like Cirdan, who are very old, and remained in ME so long, start to weary of the world and age, growing a beard and such.

Kuruharan
02-25-2002, 08:07 PM
Wisdom is the reward you get for a lifetime of listening when you’d have preferred to talk

Nice sig Durelen.

You wouldn't happen to remember where it says 50 years would you? I thought that it was about 50 years but I could not remember where I saw it.

Orald
02-26-2002, 02:58 AM