The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/index.php)
-   Novices and Newcomers (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   How old were you the first time you read LOTR? (http://forum.barrowdowns.com/showthread.php?t=3568)

miellien 10-09-2003 10:07 PM

How old were you the first time you read LOTR?

I have an ulterior motive here. My son is almost 10 and I've been wondering when to give him the books. I don't want it to be too early and spoil it for him. But here's my story:

9 years old. Got FotR on a Friday, on Saturday announced to my parents that I was not leaving the house until they got me the rest of the books and I finished reading them!! I've been reading them anually ever since. What's your story?
-Mi- [img]smilies/biggrin.gif[/img]

Nilpaurion Felagund 10-09-2003 10:16 PM

I'm relatively new to LotR. I first knew of it when they showed the FotR movie. Then my sister (Lhunardawen) started reading the books. I began to read the books a few weeks before the TTT movie.

Wala lang!
->The True Son of Finrod, and of Amarie the Vanyar

EDIT: Sorry! The question was how old! I'm 17 now, and I read the book last year. That makes me 16 when I first read LotR.

[ October 10, 2003: Message edited by: Nilpaurion Felagund ]

Elvish Archer 10-10-2003 12:16 AM

I first read them when I was about 10. I read about how Legolas could shoot and wanted to be just like him. So I pestered my father until he got me a bow. Hard as I try I still can't do it. [img]smilies/wink.gif[/img]

Morgul Queen 10-10-2003 12:57 AM

hmmm, The Hobbit at 5, Part of Fellowship at 7 (I had a short attention span, I Was SEVEN!!), But I finally read the entire trilogy at 12.

Iargwath 10-10-2003 01:47 AM

I read The Lord of the Rings at 13...i started reading it a month after i finished reading The Hobbit...i couldn't really help myself [img]smilies/smile.gif[/img]

Meela 10-10-2003 05:38 AM

Hobbit ~ aged 3.

Lotr ~ not sure.