The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > Novices and Newcomers
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 05-01-2002, 02:23 PM   #1
Auriel Haevasawen
Wight

Auriel Haevasawen has just left Hobbiton.
Sting Where is your Middle Earth?

This is my first attempt at starting a topic and only my hundreth posting so sorry if I make mistakes.
I got to thinking about where in the world that you think matches places in Middle Earth, not influenced by Peter Jackson but personal feelings.
Two of my own examples would be Cragside House in Northumberland (England) as Rivendell. It's a mock-gothic affair at the top of a wooded valley with a proper bubbling stream at the bottom. If you continue past the house and up into the woods you eventually come out onto the rather bleak Cheviot hills (moors really). All the land and stuff are open to the public. The other place is some caverns I visited in Croatia when I was eleven. They were near Lubijana and were a perfect Moria.
Any other locations you've been in and suddenly thought, wow this is Middle Earth?
Old 05-01-2002, 06:04 PM   #2
Elven-Maiden
Shade of Carn Dûm

Elven-Maiden has just left Hobbiton.
Sting

Happy Centenary posting! [img]smilies/smile.gif[/img] I think that my own home is a lot like a cross between the Shire and Bree.

Mobilis in Mobile
Elven-Maiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 06:30 PM   #3
Tigerlily Gamgee
Hostess of Spirits

Tigerlily Gamgee has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via AIM to Tigerlily Gamgee
Silmaril

Hmmmm.... well, I am familiar with the landscape of the US, so here are my thoughts using them:
~Rocky Mountains = Misty Mountains
~I think that Kentucky of Virginia may have good places for the Shire (or the U.P of Michigan).

Wow, this is harder than I thought!
Tigerlily Gamgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2002, 08:32 PM   #4