The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Movies
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 09-07-2003, 07:35 PM   #1
Amarantha_Daisy
Wight

Amarantha_Daisy has just left Hobbiton.
Silmaril Me Arwen. You Jane.

Okay. I think I found a mistake in the movie's Elvish translation, but I'm not sure and I was hoping someone could help me clear this up.<P>When we first (unfortunatly ) meet Arwen, she introduces herself to Frodo by saying in Sindarin, "Im Arwen" which the subtitles tell us means "I am Arwen." Now, I'm still a beginner in Sindarin, but I thought that "Im" was translated as "I"<P>Isn't "I am" "Non" in Sindarin? I think Arwen is saying "I Arwen" rather than "I am Arwen" ... Or is my translation wrong? If I'm correct, Arwen really needs some grammer lessons
Old 09-10-2003, 11:11 PM   #2
Iargwath
Wight

Iargwath has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via ICQ to Iargwath Send a message via AIM to Iargwath
Sting