The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Books
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-22-2002, 01:35 AM   #1
Iargwath
Wight

Iargwath has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via ICQ to Iargwath Send a message via AIM to Iargwath
Question What was your first Tolkien Book?

Hi guys,
I was wondering...what was the first Tolkien book u read? and what made u like it so much that it made u continue reading Tolkien?
With me it was the Hobbit. I had never read fantasy before and i guess it was a good way to start [img]smilies/biggrin.gif[/img] With me it was the idea of escaping to another world that had me hooked. I am a writer myself and i just find the idea of creating a world, history and language so ingenious it had me hooked! Well if u would like to share your first experience of Tolkien reading post it here! [img]smilies/biggrin.gif[/img]

My M-e Forum
Iargwath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2002, 01:40 AM   #2
Nazgūl Queen
Haunting Spirit

Nazgūl Queen has just left Hobbiton.
Sting

LotR... it was my first real older fantasy book (i was 10), and everything was wonderful. The description, the way it drew me in, the characters, everything!

When I read the Hobbit at 11 years I found it a bit childish... but a good book nonetheless.
Old 07-22-2002, 06:56 AM   #3
Alkanoonion
Spirit in Eriador

Alkanoonion has just left Hobbiton.
1420!

My first Tolkien book (which I still have in perfect condition) was ‘The Hobbit’ 50th anniversary edition 1987.
I loved the characters, and the Map on the first pg I spent ages trying to decipher the runes. Also I think that Hobbits have the same love of food that I have. I Love reading the Hobbit over some nice tea and cake. [img]smilies/biggrin.gif[/img]
Old 07-22-2002, 07:07 AM   #4
The Barrow-Wight
Night In Wight Satin