The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > Novices and Newcomers
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 01-12-2004, 05:38 PM   #1
Thengal
Haunting Spirit

Thengal has just left Hobbiton.
Eye Legolas shooting stuff....

I don't know if anyone else has noticed this, but nearly every time Legolas shoots at something he shoots it through the throat. For instance, the hill where they get attacked by wolves and in Moria at Balin's tomb. Maybe this happens just in FOTR. Is this just suppose to show his marksmenship or what?
Thengal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 06:20 PM   #2
Corwyn Celesil
Haunting Spirit

Corwyn Celesil has just left Hobbiton.
Silmaril

I am no expert in archery, but perhaps shooting someone through the throat is a more sure way of making sure he dies?
Then came there from the south of the city the people of the Fountain, and Ecthelion was their lord, and silver and diamonds were their delight; and swords very long and bright and pale did they wield . . .
Corwyn Celesil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2004, 06:32 PM   #3
VanimaEdhel
Etheral Enchantress

VanimaEdhel has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via AIM to VanimaEdhel Send a message via MSN to VanimaEdhel
Silmaril

Refresh my memory: do they mention this expressly in the books or are you just taking this from the movie?