The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Books
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 12-27-2001, 03:59 PM   #1
Lush
Fair and Cold

Lush is a guest of Tom Bombadil.
Send a message via ICQ to Lush Send a message via AIM to Lush Send a message via Yahoo to Lush
Silmaril It's mine! My preciousss!

Last night, I took the hundred-dollar bill that a wealthy friend of my father's deposited under my Christmas tree, and went out to buy the entire Lord of the Rings; I desperatly needed my own copy. Of course, I also need a new pair of pants, so I walked out of the store with a not-so-expensive edition. One day, when I am a wealthy author, sipping martini and tending to my own stable, I will definitely own a stunning edition. I'm sure most of you do already.
Today, I went and stood in line at the local DMV for about 4 hours, due to the fact that some jerk recently swiped my wallet, and I needed a new license. I brought the book along with me. The line was long, and the people behind me were joking that I would finish the entire set by the time I got up to the main desk. And dig this, a man in front of me, having noticed what I was reading, turned and said,
"It's funny you should have that book Miss, because in my opinion, you are the splitting image of Galadriel herself, just grow your hair out a bit more." I didn't know how to respond to that.
And as if that wasn't enough, some little kid began speaking elvish to me!...At least, it sounded like elvish. He said he had read the books twice already, but didn't look a day over ten.
So this is what happens when you get your hands on Tolkien...Next thing you know, I'll be run down by a stampeding herd of orcs as I cross the street.
Old 12-28-2001, 12:40 AM   #2
Elrian
Eldar Spirit of Truth

Elrian has just left Hobbiton.
Pipe