The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Books
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 12-26-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
TheLostPilgrim
Haunting Spirit

TheLostPilgrim has just left Hobbiton.
The Grey Havens

A question:
Bilbo, Frodo, Gimli, Gandalf, Legolas and Sam pass over to the Grey Havens, right? What exactly are the Grey Havens? What is the nature of the lad? I'm VERY new to LOTR so I'm a little clueless about some of this stuff. Also, would going to the Grey Havens or "Undying Lands" mean that Bilbo, Frodo, Sam and Gimli have eternal life? What about Legolas, Galadriel and the other Elves who went? Or Gandalf--Would he still have retained physical form and remained "Gandalf" or would he have returned to being Olorin, the Maia spirit? I would think such spirits are eternal, right? And even as Olorin, Gandalf would have his own personality and identity?

And lastly, why were the Elves fading? Why were so many leaving Middle Earth? And did any Elves remain in ME at least into the Fourth Age and beyond?
TheLostPilgrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 04:51 PM   #2
Inziladun
Gruesome Spectre

Inziladun is a guest of Galadriel in Lothlórien.Inziladun is a guest of Galadriel in Lothlórien.Inziladun is a guest of Galadriel in Lothlórien.Inziladun is a guest of Galadriel in Lothlórien.Inziladun is a guest of Galadriel in Lothlórien.
Welcome, TheLostPilgrim!

You bring a lot of good questions, let's see if I can avoid being too confusing.

The Grey Havens were merely a harbour maintained by Círdan and the Elves with him as a point of departure for Elves in Middle-earth to return to the Undying Lands.
The Havens themselves were really nothing special, and they would have been accessible to anyone. They were guarded by the Elves though, so unauthorised entry was not allowed.