The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Movies
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 12-19-2002, 11:52 PM   #1
Isenna
Pile O'Bones

Isenna has just left Hobbiton.
Question What's the word?

Hey guys, I'm a new (15 mos?), but huge LOTRs fan, and I'm also an intern director. I've never heard the true opinion of 'real' LOTRs fan on PJ. I hope this isn't viewed just as a 'newbie thread', because I am really serious. I am curious as to what you all think about PJ's job on these movies? I was upset about a couple of things he did ('vision crap' as I think it was put ), and that he's dropping the end of the ROTK. I think that Arwen shouldn't have been changed so much, and there should be more mistery surrounding Aragorn. None of this "This is Aragorn, son of Arathorn, heir to the throne of Gondor" stuff. If I remember right (correct me if I'm wrong), you don't know he's the king until later in the book and you don't know who he falls for until near the end. I haven't seen TTT yet, but I will by the time I come back to check this (playing hooky tomorrow ) So what do you think? I don't mean replies such as "I hate him" or "Good job PJ", detailed opinions please. I'm hoping to better myself as a director because maybe on day I'll be putting someone's favorite book on screen. Sorry if this is a duplicate thread, I looked at everything since TTT came out, and I didn't see anything. Thanks!
Isenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 12:10 AM   #2
Tigerlily Gamgee
Hostess of Spirits

Tigerlily Gamgee has just left Hobbiton.
Send a message via AIM to Tigerlily Gamgee
Silmaril