The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Movies
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 02-03-2003, 08:16 PM   #1
balrogman
Wight

balrogman has just left Hobbiton.
Pipe The Hobbit

How come nobody talks about the animated hobbit? i think its a rad movie!! also do you think that PJ will make a real version of the hobbit? i think it would be cool!!
Old 02-04-2003, 07:56 AM   #2
Elladan Peredhil
Animated Skeleton

Elladan Peredhil has just left Hobbiton.
Shield

I'm by no means an expert here (having only just joined myself) but my guess would be that the reason we don't talk much about The Hobbit here is because of PJ having made LotR so recently -- with so many people having watched the movies, it's drawing a new following to Tolkien's works. Unfortunately (IMHO anyway) some of the people on here seem to be more interested in the recent movies than in the original works themselves.<P>With regard to the animated version of the Hobbit, I can't claim to have watched it, although I probably will now if someone highly recommends it. I did watch the animated version of LotR and was sorely disappointed -- they seemed to cut out so much of the text -- but perhaps this is not a problem in The Hobbit..<P>I'm not sure if PJ will be making The Hobbit or not -- I have heard people saying that they wish he would, but I've seen interviews in which he claims to want a break from the fantastical world of Middle Earth once he's finished refilming parts of RotK later this year. I fear only time will tell if such a movie is made by PJ.
Elladan Peredhil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2003, 08:34 AM   #3
mollecon
Wight

mollecon has just left Hobbiton.
Sting

Yeah - but New Line Cinema have the rights to "The Hobbit" now, so maybe... Perhaps with another director.
mollecon is offline   Reply With Quote