The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum

Visit The *EVEN NEWER* Barrow-Downs Photo Page

Go Back   The Barrow-Downs Discussion Forum > Middle-Earth Discussions > The Books
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Old 04-12-2003, 08:13 PM   #1
Conspiracy Theorist

Pipe Gondor: Population and Casualties

Hello. I am a newbie around here but am trying to do some research for a story in progress and was wondering if anyone has knowledge of:

1) Estimated Population of Gondor circa 3010 TA
2) Estimated casualties sustained in defense of Gondor for the years 3010-3018 TA
3) Estimated Population of Gondor at start of 3018 TA
4) Estimated Polupation of Minas Tirith at start of 3018 TA
5)Estimated number of Gondorian casualties dead from June 3018 TA through the destruction of the ring.
6) Number of Gondorian casualties wounded in same period as number 5

I am in part trying to figure out ratio of men to women in the adolescent/young adult range the end of all the wars. The other is to get a mental grip on what the population/age structure might look like.

Thanks in advance for the assistance. [img]smilies/evil.gif[/img]
Old 04-13-2003, 07:50 AM   #2
Kuruharan
Regal Dwarven Shade

Kuruharan is battling Black Riders on Weathertop.Kuruharan is battling Black Riders on Weathertop.Kuruharan is battling Black Riders on Weathertop.
Tolkien

1)We don't know, and there is really no reliable way to give an educated guess, except to say that it was probably more populated than the majority of Eriador.

2)We don't know that either, but I would guess that it was a relatively insignificant number if looked at from the size of the total population.

3)Refer to answer #1.

4)Same problem. It was evidently a big city, but also partially depopulated. So the question remains, How large? and How depopulated?

5)Several hundred at least, but we don't know for sure.

6)The number of wounded was probably around three times greater than the number killed.